Greetings from Texas!

Wow! It’s been awhile hasn’t it?! It feels good to be back here again. I wanted to say hello and update you all where I’ve been and what I’ve been doing.

photo 1

Moved: In February, I said good-bye to California and moved to Austin, Texas with my Fave. I was born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area and this move was HUGE for me. My family and friends are all in the Bay and moving here has been quite an adjustment. Though I miss home sometimes, Austin is a great city and I’m lucky to be living in this vibrant, hip and awesome place. I’ve been having fun exploring different places to visit, EAT, shop and of course, RUN! If you haven’t heard already, Austin is known as one of the fittest cities in the US. There are plenty of trails and parks to run at. During my commute, I see numerous 13.1, 26.2 or 70K stickers on just about every car. Austin is definitely a runner’s paradise!

Running: I’ve been slowly getting back into the running game. I’ve gone on short runs on the treadmill and out on the pavement. I haven’t run a race this year and I’m itching to get back. However, just recently, my Fave surprised me with a registration for a 5K trail race in June. Needless to say, I’m excited and a bit nervous. Training for this race has been a learning experience. I feel like I’m learning how to run again. I am also adjusting to the weather in Texas. Running in humid conditions has been a challenge but I see it as an opportunity to get stronger. I’m fortunate to live close to a number of running trails which makes it easier to go out for a run.

photo 2

Reflecting: I’ve changed since I moved to Texas. With the laid back feel of this city/state, I also have a different attitude towards running. Instead of compulsively setting my running app or posting every single run on social media, I’ve learned to just embrace the run. Focusing on my body and instead of my time has relieved the pressure I had felt before during my runs. I want to enjoy running again and this break has allowed me to find that joy again.

I may have stepped away from the running scene for awhile but I’m determined to stay motivated and make this my best running year yet!

What have YOU been up to?! Any fun summer races planned?

See you at the finish line!

Leave a Reply

