Half Marathon Training – Rise & Run Version 2.0

This week has been a good one.

In the past few days, I have gotten up at the crack of dawn and have been able to get a couple of runs in. I think I got this training schedule down: 3 days of running and my long run on Saturdays. Even though I would rather be sleeping in, I understand that this is crunch time. I know I have to make the time to go and run. October’s half marathon is just around the corner!!

Running in the evenings just doesn’t seem to work for me right now because by the time I’ve finished dinner, the last thing I want to do is run. These morning runs have been a great way to start my day. I feel energized and accomplished. In addition to my training, I’ve also been hitting the weight room and going on my daily sunset walks. I also have a 10K trail race scheduled for tomorrow morning which will be my long run/hill training for this week.

Here are a few highlights from the past few days:

Sunday: My Fave and I went on a trail hike at Joseph D. Grant County Park. This is a HUGE park! It is over 9,000 acres and has about 52 miles of trails. On our hike we were able to spot turkey, deer AND wild hogs. We ended the evening with a small picnic dinner and enjoyed the Super Moon peeking out of the mountains.

AlumRock

SuperMoon

Tuesday & Thursday: Morning runs done! It was hard but I was able to get 4-5 miles done. Running on the trail and watching the sun come up were the highlights of my runs. My pace has been between 11:00-12:00/mile and I hope to improve as my mileage goes up. Next week, I start upping my mileage to 6-7 miles. Let’s hope that I continue on this schedule!

MCtrail

Shoes

Sunset Walks: My favorite part of my daily sunset walks is watching the sun go down with my Fave.

MCsunset

LakeElizabeth

August isn’t looking so bad after all!

How’s your August going?

See you at the finish line!

8 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training – Rise & Run Version 2.0

  1. I haven’t been to Grant in a few years (back in my mountain biking days). Another great trail run to attempt, if you’re interested in really building the legs, would be Stevens Creek Canyon Trail. Run it from Stevens Creek Canyon Road to Page Mill Road. I think it’s just a shade over 6 miles — uphill..

  2. The sunrise pictures look amazing! Good luck with the rest of your training. I’m contemplating adding a half or maybe a full to my race schedule, though I haven’t decided yet.

Leave a Reply

