July Recap

July was a good month for me and I was able to get a few good runs in. Total mileage: 29.5. Not as much as I had hoped but there’s always August!

Here are a few highlights:

  • July started off with a race. I ran Redwood City’s Annual Parade Run and had a great time! Read my recap here:

finish

  • Started my Rise & Run plan. This was my attempt to wake up at the crack of dawn to get my runs in. So how’s it going so far? Um…don’t ask! Let’s just say that it was ‘fun’ while it lasted and I’ve spent more time in my bed sleeping in than running. #SorryNotSorry

shoeselfie

  • Did some hill repeats. There is a slight incline off the trail that I run at and one evening I did some hill sprints. It was tough but I felt great at the end! I’d like to incorporate more of them in my training.
  • Enjoying sunset walks more than sunset runs. It’s been HOT here in the San Francisco Bay Area and it makes it difficult to go for a run in the evenings! I do enjoy the beautiful sunsets on these walks though.

sunset

BTB

Half-marathon training has been going OK and I hope to amp it up in the next couple of months. October isn’t too far away and I need to get serious about getting those miles in. No pressure! I haven’t signed up for my October half marathon yet but I do have my sights on the San Jose Rock ‘n’ Roll Half. Here’s to an awesome August!

blues

How was your July? Do you believe in The Blerch?!

See you at the finish line!

 

13 thoughts on “July Recap

  1. Oh my goodness! I’ve seen spinets (if you even can) of the Blerch…but I just read it all after you posted it…that shit is hilarious!! I instantly sent to a few friends 🙂 I like that you dubbed your early runs the “Rise & Run Plan”. That was my entire life when I was training for my first marathon. Good luck with August training!! xoxo, ganeeban

  2. I have been trying to be a morning runner because you are so right… That heat. It sucks all the joy out of running.
    Then I remember how much I love to sleep. Fortunately it’s been pretty rainy here lately, so I either use that as an excuse not to run or a good way to cool off on the go. Hope your August is full of many successes!

  3. I only run in the mornings on weekends. During the week, I will run a couple of hours after dinner or immediately after work if I think I will lose all motivation by the time I get home (which happens often).

    • I like to do my long runs on weekends too because I don’t feel so rushed during the week. It is definitely hard after dinner or work because all I want to do is do anything but run! 🙂

      • I’m definitely not running today, even though I got home from work early. Legs are completely shot from running at Fremont Older yesterday.

Leave a Reply

