Half-Marathon Training: Rise & Run

“Beep! Beep! Beep!” I open one eye and look at my phone.

It’s 4:45 AM on a Monday. A Monday!

This was THE week that I was going to get serious about this half-marathon training business. I hear my Fave call my name and whisper, “Sarah. Sarah. Get up. Come on, let’s get up.” He flips the light switch on and I slowly get up to get dressed. I barely have one eye open as I tie on my running shoes. After a quick breakfast of a banana and a Bear Naked Energy Bar, we head to the trail. As I stare off at the trail and try to psych myself up for this run, I tell myself, “You’ve got this and you WILL do this!” I start my watch and begin my run.

shoeselfie

*******

My half-marathon training was off and I was not getting my runs in as often as I would have liked. I used to go after dinner but I would get lazy, skip my run and do something else; lift weights or go for a walk. Anything but go for a run. For whatever reason, I was also lacking the motivation. Since October is just around the corner, I worried that I wasn’t going to get some good training sessions in. Sensing my irritability or moodiness, my Fave suggested that I start doing my runs in the mornings before work. I was up for the challenge and decided that I would do it.

Getting up at the crack of dawn is not easy for me especially on weekdays. My bed feels the best in the mornings! All I want to do is snuggle in deeper into the covers and not go for a run. It’s funny though. I can get up for a red-eye flight at 3:00 AM or when I have a race but when it comes to just any day, I just can’t. Go figure.

However, this week I have gotten up and run three times! THREE times. I’m proud. Proud that I have fought the snooze button and have gotten my runs in. Sure, it’s hard to get going at first but once I got into a rhythm, then I felt fine. There’s something actually quite nice about getting out on the trail and watching the sun come up. There’s no one on the trail and all I can hear is my breathing and the sound of my feet hitting the pavement. I’ve also seen my share of some “wildlife”; a family of foxes, geese and a possum!

At the end of my run, I feel great! Even though this is just the first week, I hope I can continue this routine until my half-marathon. I HAVE TO. Eventually, when I start increasing my mileage, I know I will have to get up even earlier! I’m planning on taking it one day at a time and remember why I am running and training. I can’t wait to cross that finish line in October!

A quick thanks to my Fave for accompanying me on my runs. His support has been awesome and I’m thankful. xoxo

 

Wed

 

summary

shoehay

Are you an early riser or do you prefer to run in the evenings?

See you at the finish line!

20 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Training: Rise & Run

  1. I am a morning runner. If I don’t get it in before every thing else, it will not get done. Sometimes I’m not even awake when my feel hit the pavement, but I’m usually very “go me!” by the time I’m skipping back in the door.

  2. Great job getting up early! 4:45 is really EARLY! I’d say I’m not a morning person either, but I get I try to get my workouts done in the morning. I haven’t gotten up that early though (only for races). :p

    • Thanks! Yes, it’s hard especially when it’s still dark outside! I like running in the evenings too but I get lazy and just want to do something else besides run! haha! 🙂

  3. Great job! I love the pre-dawn runs! Something about the roads being quiet and the world being asleep.. My favorite time to get things done and accomplished! Happy running !

    • Thanks girl! Yes, it’s nice that no one is around and you have the trails/roads to yourself. It’s hard but the feeling after a run is def worth it! Happy running too!

  4. Yay for morning victories! It has to be a lot better than sweating your butt off mid day in the summer. I do so much better when I get into a morning routine because it’s done before I can find “something better” to do. Still, my bed… I love it.

  5. Good for you! Last year I was great about getting up early for runs, but this year I’ve been stuck in the habit of sleeping in. This summer, I’ve been more of an evening runner, but good luck at the half, although at this rate, you’re gonna kill it!

    • Thank you! It’s tough getting up early! I like to run in the evenings too but we’ve been getting some higher than normal temps and I just don’t want to run in the heat! 🙂

  6. Pingback: July Recap | Run Now, Pancakes Later

  7. Great job!! You are running so hard!! How fantastic!! I love running in the mornings!! It’s an amazing feeling to get it done and to feel great for the rest of the day!! XOXO!!

  8. Haha, I feel your pain! Like to get up early and get it over with but getting motivated is tricky! You’re doing so well though. I’m also running around the 4 to 6 mile mark now so it’s a real effort but really feel I’m getting somewhere! Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

