Race Recap: Brazen Racing’s Nitro Trail

Date: Saturday, May 31, 2014
Race: Brazen Racing’s Nitro Trail, Richmond CA
Distance: 5K
Race: #31

My goal was to complete this race and get that running spark going again. Brazen Racing’s Nitro Trail Race didn’t disappoint.  I debated whether or not to do the 10K but instead signed up for the 5K since my training runs had been sparse. The race was held on a chilly Saturday morning at the Point Pinole Regional Park. Did you know that this park was a site used to manufacture gunpowder and dynamite for almost 100 years? I had never been there before so it was a treat for me to run a new trail.

Even though there were a lot of people, parking and bib pick-up was easy. It was also nice to see some first time runners.

starting

Mile 1: I started off fast and had to remind myself to “Start Smart & Finish Strong“! The course was mostly flat, unpaved and on fire trails. There were a few small hills but were fairly easy to go through. The course also hugged the San Pablo Bay so it was nice to have that as a background.

Courtesy of Brazen Racing

Courtesy of Brazen Racing

Miles 2-3: I ran the next few miles at an easy pace. As I was running, I enjoyed the smell of the surrounding eucalyptus trees and the sound of my feet hitting the trail. My energy level was pretty good and I actually didn’t stop at the water station. At the last mile, I started to feel tired and knew that I just had to keep going and finish. I usually sprint towards the end but for fear of tripping over a mole hill, I held back and finished as best as I could. The course ended up being a little over 3.1 miles and according to my Nike+ App, it was about 3.32 miles. I quickly checked my watch and saw that I had finished in 34 minutes. I gleefully collected my medal and was ready for some pancakes.

Courtesy of Brazen Racing

medal

We headed to our favorite breakfast joint in the East Bay and I had my usual: Georgia Pecan Pancakes. YUM.

Now you see them:

pancakes

Now you don’t! Oh, I also had a side of bacon and eggs. I ate ALL of it. #SorryNotSorry

plate

Later on that day, I went online to check my official results AND… to my amazement, I found out that I had PLACED! Placed! I had placed 3rd in my age group! Bronze is beautiful baby! Being that this was my FIRST time placing, I was ecstatic and proud. It was definitely a nice surprise. For not training as much, I was shocked that I had even done that well. It was also added motivation for me do even better the next time I race.  My goal is to someday run a 5K under 30 minutes. I was kind of sad that I didn’t stick around after the race to get my official results and age group medal. But you know I sent off for it once I found out later that week! You know this.

 

results2

 

Running this race was what I needed to get back on my half-marathon training plan again. In the last week, I’ve had some good runs and have been increasing my mileage little by little each week. My Fave has graciously helped set a training plan for me and this time it has worked. To prevent myself from being “burned out” on running, I’ve incorporated strength training into my workouts and have found it helpful on the days I don’t run. I find myself looking forward to my runs instead of dreading them. It feels good to actually cross off the days that I’ve completed on my running calendar. It’s a no brainer that hard work pays off and I find myself excited each week to get to “work”! Half-marathon training back in effect!

Have you ever placed in a race and didn’t know it? Has a race helped you get back in the running game?

See you at the finish line!

 

 

21 thoughts on “Race Recap: Brazen Racing’s Nitro Trail

  1. Congrats on placing in your AG! Woot! I’ve been wanting to do one of these Brazen races. Seems like a cool local vibe and the medals are great! 🙂

  2. Congrats on your 3rd place, and for running a great race! Those finisher medals are awesome! Also, those pancakes… I need them in my life.

  3. Woohoo! What a cool story and congrats on your Bronze! You ROCK! Goes to show, sometimes the body knows when it needs a break but staying committed to your goals can have amazing results!

  4. Congratulations! You looked great. I love the picture of you running in the race! And those pancakes! Well deserved! Happy running 🙂

  5. Pingback: Rerun – My year of running: 2014 | Run Now, Pancakes Later

Leave a Reply

