Half-Marathon Training – Week 8

Maybe it’s race week or the beautiful weather we’ve been getting. What I do know is that these last few runs and workouts have been great! Speaking of race week, I have a race scheduled for this Saturday. I haven’t done a race since March so I am looking forward to it!

Saturday: It was Memorial Day Weekend and I started it off with a 3 mile run. It started to warm up quickly that morning but I still managed to get a good run in. Not my fastest but a run nonetheless!

*Side note: Thank you to all our brave men and women who have served or currently serving in our military. You have made the ultimate sacrifice and have allowed us the freedom to do the things we love to do.

052414_trail

Photo credit to my Fave for capturing this shot!

Photo credit to my Fave for capturing this action shot!

052414stat

 

Tuesday: Have you ever had one of those runs where everything just went right and felt like you could run forever? Tuesday night was one of them for me.

Though it was a little late getting to the trail, I still had a great run that evening. The moment that I started, I felt my feet quick and light underneath me. I ran with ease and found my “happy pace”. Even running on the gnat infested trail and consuming some “extra” protein that night didn’t faze me as much. Gross, I know. At the turnaround, I still felt great and headed to a fast finish. My Fave always reminds me to: “Start smart and finish strong.” A mantra that I use to get me through these runs.

As most of you know, the past few weeks have been a struggle for me and about trying to find that balance again. The break from running has been good and each time I go out for a run, I feel better and appreciate each moment. That evening was a reminder to continue to embrace these running accomplishments no matter how big or small.

052714

052714_shoe

052714stat

How was your Memorial Day Weekend? Did you do a race?

See you at the finish line!

6 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Training – Week 8

  1. Love, love, love that “happy place” feeling. If only we could bottle it up and sell it or use it when we’re having a crappy run! Glad you’re finding your groove again, girlie! Keep up the good training!

Leave a Reply

