Half-Marathon Training – Week 7

May is almost over and I feel like I didn’t train as hard as I wanted to.

I can blame it on so many things right now:

  • I was too busy.
  • I was too tired.
  • I ate too much.
  • The NBA Playoffs are on!
  • and so on and so on…

I’m not going to dwell on any of that because I have no one else to blame but myself. When I was thinking about running my first half marathon this year, I knew that it was going to take a lot of time, commitment and sacrifice. I’m usually pretty organized but when it comes down to BIG things, I tend to be all over the place. That’s how I feel about this half-marathon training business. With so much information to take in such as scheduling runs, fueling, PRs, etc. I felt overwhelmed and just didn’t want to deal with all that. I just wanted to run without all that pressure. Look, I know running this half marathon isn’t going to be easy. I know this. I know hard work pays off and I want to get back into training again. I just have to make the time for it and as cliché as this sounds, “Just Do It”!

These past few weeks has been a learning experience. I’m slowly getting back into a running rhythm/schedule and finding my “happy pace” again. One of the best things in life is learning from our mistakes and starting over and that’s what I am doing with running.

Here’s how Week 7 went:

Wednesday: I know this isn’t running related but I had to share what a beautiful and HOT day it was in San Francisco! Our company had a “mandatory staff meeting” at AT&T Park and on the agenda was the Giants game! I was *this close* to bringing my running gear and getting a run along the Embarcadero but didn’t. Oh well.

giantstx

giantsgame

Thursday: I did a quick sunset run and felt pretty good even if it was hard to get started!

nighttrail

051514

Saturday: I ran 3 miles in the morning and felt great! It was a great way to start the weekend. After, we headed to the City and spent some time at Ocean Beach.

051714shoes

051714_trail

051714

beach

Sunday: We went on a short but tough hike through Quicksilver. The hills were torture but we were rewarded with some awesome views of the South Bay.

quicksilver

quicksilver1

It was a great week and weekend even if I didn’t log in the miles!

Oh and one more thing, I have a race scheduled at the end of this month! Yup, I registered last week and I’m hoping that running a race will be what I need to get back into running. Wish me luck!

See you at the finish line!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Training – Week 7

    • That would have been cool to meet up at the Giants game! 🙂 Thank you for the encouragement! You’re right, at least I will be lapping everyone on the couch/bed that morning!

  1. A staff meeting at AT&T Park and Quicksilver?! Looks like an amazing week! Good luck on your race this month! That’s a great motivator.

Leave a Reply

