Half-Marathon Training – Week 3

I must confess.

I didn’t do a long run on Saturday nor have I been running. Instead, I’ve been busy spending time with my Fave, my family and eating lots of Easter candy. All legitimate reasons to take a break from running. Yes, I do miss it and my feet are itching to run but this time away from running has been good.

Here’s what Week 3 looked like:

Tuesday: It was the anniversary of the 2013 Boston Marathon bombings so I did a run to remember the victims of that day. It was an emotional run and I wore my BOSTON STRONG shirt with pride that day. Recap here.

041514

Thursday: I hadn’t done a ‘runch’ (lunch run) in a while so I decided to go for a quick one. It was warm that afternoon and I struggled a bit. Even though it was tough, I’m still glad that I went for a run and enjoyed the beautiful weather.

041714_run041714_splits

I also (finally!) got my Road ID that day. I now have peace of mind when I go out for my runs. If you don’t have one, get one! Remember, safety first!

roadID

Sunday: Happy Easter! My family celebrated Easter by having a BBQ and a mini-egg hunt for my cousins. I indulged in lots of FOOD and CHOCOLATE and didn’t care about calories.

eggs

*************

My last run was Thursday! Thursday, people! I do feel guilty for consuming loads of chocolate and for not running in the past few days. BUT I know I’ll get back on it soon. I’ve been putting pressure on myself and after a heart to heart with my Fave, I know I need to put the brakes on. It’s good to step back and remember that it’s not always about running. I’ve had so much fun spending time with loved ones and eating delicious food and for that, I’m thankful. I know running will be there waiting for me and I will come out even stronger.

Have you taken a break from running and felt guilty? How was your Easter weekend?

See you at the finish line!  

11 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Training – Week 3

  1. My co-worker said something during my marathon training that made me think too – “Running isn’t your job.” Although at times it DOES feel like that, it consumes your life/schedule/time, we have to remember we don’t get paid to do it. It’s supposed to be for fun, so hopefully you can find the joy in running again! I think it’s just the ebbs and flows of running, we all have them!! Good luck on your training for this week!

    • You’re right! I am not getting paid to run and it’s not my job. Sometimes we do forget that and put way too much pressure if we don’t run or skip a few days. I think it’s hard also to see everyone putting in their miles on social media that you also feel that peer pressure too! Crazy! I have to remember to always “Do Me!”

  2. Don’t worry, you’ll get back to it when you’re ready!! I’ve taken a break and felt a little guilt, but realized that it’s a natural reaction (to feel guilt) and that listening to my mind/body was more important than ego!! I enjoyed lots of chocolate, too and I think it’s awesome you’re enjoying life and having fun with family!! XOXO!!!

  3. I’ve been guilty of taking breaks too… more than I’d like to admit! Chins up. I bet you come back feeling great, and well-rested! xo Kelby

    • Exactly! I love running and I definitely don’t want that to get in the way of family and friends. We always have to have a healthy balance between running and other things.

Leave a Reply

