Half-Marathon Training – Week 2

Week 2 was another busy week for me! Here’s how it went:

Tuesday: What was supposed to be an easy 4 miles turned into a 5K that I struggled with. I also ran into a snake on my run! Eek! Talk about a tough run! Here’s the recap.

Snake

Thursday: I ran 5 miles at the Los Gatos Creek Trail. With that bad run still fresh in my mind, I was nervous about having a repeat episode. I shook it off, embraced my run and enjoyed it. I kept a good pace and finished strong.

LGtrail

041014_map041014_stats

Friday: First track workout of my training. I started with a short but fast 1/2 mile run around the track. Then I did a few sprints along the straightaways. Running on the track was a different experience for me and it felt great sprinting with the wind rushing in my ears. I felt like a track star. Ha! It was a nice break from running the trails and I’m looking forward to incorporating more speed work in my training.

track

Saturday: Long run! It was overcast that morning and was the ideal climate for me to run in. My long runs usually start off slow but after finding my ‘happy pace’, I was able to get into a good rhythm. I crushed 7.5 miles and had another great run! Running these longer distances have been an accomplishment for me and they are getting ‘easier’.

041214_run

041214_map041214_stats041214_stats2

Sunday: Guess who got new shoes?! This runner right here! That’s a whole other post in itself! I love the ones that I picked out (Asics GT-2000 2) and can’t wait to test them out.

shoes

Pancakes: None! (insert sad face) But I did make one of my favorite healthy sweet treats: Banana ‘ice-cream’. A super easy recipe that anyone can do! Blend frozen bananas and mix with nuts and you get “ice-cream”. Vegan and paleo-friendly!

Banana icecream

Week 2 was another great week of training. Even though I had a bad run, I still bounced back and ended the week successfully!

How was your week? Any exciting upcoming races that you’re training for?

See you at the finish line!

 

9 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Training – Week 2

  1. That banana ice cream looks so delicious! And healthy! Good job on your runs this week. You’re going to be very ready for your half marathon!!

  2. Despite the tough 5k on Tuesday, seems like you had a good training week!

    I have to admit, I only recently (like, in January) did my first ever training run at the Los Gatos trail, and it’s so close to me! lol I love that there are so many options around our area. 🙂

    I can never stay consistent with track workouts. I don’t know what it is; I can never keep up with them. It probably has something to do with the fact that I need to drive to the closest one and then run, and then drive home. I typically like to run straight out from my front door. haha

    Can’t wait to continue the training journey with you! We definitely need a training run together one of these days, if I can keep up with you 🙂

    • I hear ya. Track workouts are neccessary but sometimes I don’t know what I’m doing. Haha! I just sprint on the straightaways. I prefer to run on the trails. I know I will have to do some hill workouts too.

      Yes, I’m glad that we have so many options to run in the Bay Area! I hope to run into you on one of the trails! Um, hello missy?! You keep up with me?! You’re the tri-athlete girl! I don’t know if I can keep up with YOU! 😉

  3. Looks like you had a good week, despite the snake. Ugh. I don’t do reptiles. I live in a standard neighborhood but it’s surrounded by farms and ranches so when I run the rural roads I’m always on the look out for them. Growing up I lived on a ranch and my mom would always say, “Watch out for snakes” when we went out to play so I have a huge fear of them.

    • It was my first time seeing a snake on my usual trail so I was surprised! I think its because the weather is getting warmer. Yikes! Yes, always keep an eye out when you run near those farms and rural roads!

Leave a Reply

