Half-Marathon Training – Week 1

Half-marathon training has officially begun! Last week, I kicked off my half-marathon training on April 1st and it was definitely not an April Fool’s joke! Six months from now, sometime in October, I will be running my FIRST half marathon! #Raceto35

Tuesday: It was the first day of my training and I ran 3 miles on the treadmill. Yes, on the treadmill. I really wanted to run outside that day but it rained! The rain was coming down hard and I sure didn’t have time to get drenched that evening. Instead I headed to the gym and hopped on the treadmill. It had been awhile since I ran on the ‘dreadmill’ but I got my run in. After all, any run is better than no run at all right?

tread

treadstat2treadstat

Wednesday: Did you know that it was the American Heart Association’s National Walking Day? Because this cause has affected me personally, I went on a walk at lunch and showed my support. It was a beautiful afternoon and I enjoyed my walk to the San Jose Rose Garden. I literally stopped and smelled the roses that day!

NWD

Thursday: I did a sunset run at my usual trail. As I was running, I was surprised to see a few visiting student track athletes from Utah State doing warm-up sprints. I came to find out that the Stanford Track & Field Invitational was held last weekend. Seeing them running was motivating and inspiring. It also made me wish I was just as fast as they were!

sunsetrun

Saturday: My scheduled long run. I started off slow but found a comfortable pace and enjoyed my run. It was tough towards the end but I finished my run strong and felt great. 7 miles done!

satrun

satstatsatstat2

After my run, I was craving something sweet and healthy so I decided to make “No Bake Energy Bites” or what I like to call them: Sarah’s Schweddy Runner’s Balls. I hope most of you got my Saturday Night Live (SNL) reference. If you haven’t seen the SNL skit: NPR’s Delicious Dish, then you’re missing out! It is hilarious and one of my favorite skits!

Anyway, the original recipe can be found at Gimme Some Oven. These were so good and addicting. I made a few adjustments and used almond butter and added coconut oil. They still came out great and were delicious! These energy bites are perfect for a quick treat and are super easy to make.

energybites

Sunday: I made PANCAKES! You know I had to have pancakes after my run on Saturday right? With some of the leftover ingredients from the energy bites, I made these chocolate chip and coconut pancakes. Yum! It was a sweet way to kick off my half marathon training!

chocpan

Week 1 was a success and I know in the upcoming weeks, I will be met with more challenges. I will also be scheduling in some track and hill workouts. Since I don’t run everyday, I do HIIT and Tabata workouts as well as strength training on non-running days. These have been beneficial to me and have greatly improved my endurance. I will continue to add these in as part of my training.

As my mileage starts to increase, I will also be experimenting with different ways to fuel up during my runs. Before a long run, I usually eat a Picky Bar or have a banana with almond butter and honey. These have worked for me and have not given me any issues during my runs. I know this will change once I start adding more mileage and start learning about other fueling options.

Knowing that I will be training for my FIRST half-marathon has me excited and the support I have gotten has been amazing! Thank you to my Fave, family, friends and the #Runchat community! Week 1 DONE!

How was your week? Are you training for any upcoming races?

See you at the finish line!

12 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Training – Week 1

  1. Nice runs and congrats on committing to training for your first 13.1.

    Just a quick thought regarding fueling. If you are not out for more than two hours you will do fine with just a pre-race, pre-workout meal.

    Your glycogen stores should last you until you finish, especially at LSD pace. Maybe a single gel if you are really pushing the pace and feel depleted after experimenting a few times.

    Good luck!

    • Thank you! Actually putting it out there has made it concrete and there is no turning back! I am looking forward to it though!

      Thanks for the tip! I am not a fan of gels or maybe I haven’t found one that I like yet. I will def try others and test them out on future runs.

  2. Congrats! For my first half, I only trained on the treadmill and I didn’t run more than 7.5 miles – how far I’ve come! It’s going to be a fun adventure to follow you through your journey to your first halfer! Good luck and keep up the good work!!

    • Thank you! It’s going to be tough journey but I know it’s going to be all worth it when I cross that finish line!

      OMG, I don’t know if I can stay on the treadmill that long! Doing 3-4 miles is my max because I just get so bored! I’m glad that the weather has been nice and I can run outdoors. We are such spoiled Californians aren’t we?! 🙂

    • Thank you! Week 1 was good and I know there are going to be some tough runs ahead! Running 7 miles is an accomplishment for me considering how far I’ve come on my running journey!

      Yes, I heard October is a great time to run a half. Besides it being my birthday month (hehe), the conditions are bit better too. 😉

    • Thank you! It’s just Week 1 and I know I have a long ways to go but it’s all part of my journey! I’m excited and can’t wait to cross that finish line! It’s so inspiring to hear other runners’ stories about their halfs too.

    • Thanks for the recipe! These energy bites are so easy to make and addicting!

      Thank you! I’m really looking forward to finishing my FIRST half! The training is all part of the journey so I’m definitely going to embrace it!

Leave a Reply

