March Run Recaps & The Start of Half-Marathon Training

Running my first 10K trail race, testing out new gear, running my longest distance AND exceeding my goal of running 50 miles in a month?! March was indeed full of running madness!

My month in review:

BrazenBadger

  • I heard about ENERGYbits and was given the opportunity to test them out and host my first blog giveaway. Being #PoweredByBits kept me energized and feeling great during and after my runs!

Ebitshand

  • It was my first time running in compression gear and I purchased my first pair of ProCompression socks. I’m a fan and can’t take them off! They have been helpful during and after my long runs.

flowers

  • I took advantage of Daylight Savings Time and said hello to sunset runs on the trails and good-bye to long treadmill runs at the gym!

Sunset

  • I embraced the much-needed rain that California has been getting and stomped on some puddles during a few runs.

RainRun

  • I ran my longest distance so far. Last Saturday, I planned on running 7 miles but ended up going a half mile more. I felt great and finished strong with negative splits!

LongestRun

  • The goal that I am most proud of: Running more than 50 miles in a month! My total mileage for the month: 69.9 miles! This is HUGE for me! Last month, I was a few miles shy of reaching 50 miles and I made it a goal to reach it in March. Not only did I reach it, I surpassed it. I can feel my body getting stronger each week with the increased mileage. It definitely has been improving my speed and also preparing me for longer distances.

photo 1

**************

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” ~Lao Tzu

March was definitely a great month but I’m looking forward to see what April has in store for me! I don’t have a race scheduled this month (yet!) because I’m officially starting my 6-month training for my FIRST HALF-MARATHON! I haven’t chosen which half-marathon race to run because there are a few that I am still deciding on: The Nike Women’s Half (if I get in), the San Jose Rock & Roll Half Marathon or the Los Angeles Rock & Roll Half Marathon. What I do know is that it has to be my 35th race and in October for my 35th birthday.

I’ve also been researching everything about half-marathons online and getting tips from other runners. My plan is to increase my mileage by focusing on my pace and time each week. I’ve printed out several Runner’s World Training Guides to get me started and seeing which plan will work for me. I’m excited and a little nervous but I’m looking forward to accomplishing this goal! The next few months are going to be a challenge for me; mentally and physically but I know I CAN and WILL cross that finish line in October!

halfguides

 

How was your March? Did you have a good running month? Any exciting run/races planned for April? Any half-marathon tips or advice for running your first half?

See you at the finish line!

 

5 thoughts on “March Run Recaps & The Start of Half-Marathon Training

  1. Wow, you’ve accomplished so much and it looks like you’ve had a fab month!! You have been good to March- meaning you’ve pushed it for everything that it had!! Nice results and I absolutely love compression socks, too!!

  2. I have no idea what freakin’ took me so long to start following your blog! But alas, I am here 🙂 Loved the post! I fell in love with trail running last year, I’m excited to get into again this year 🙂 Energy Bits, they scare me, but tons of people I know use them! Pro compression have saved my legs on many occasions, the hardest part is putting those dang things on :)! Congrats on a very successful March!

    • Thank you for following along on my running journey! It’s great to meet some inspiring runners like yourself! I will be stopping by your blog too! Yes, I’m hooked on trail running and hope to do more! Have you heard of the Northface Endurance Trail Challenge? I want to run the 10K, not the 50K! I heard it’s fun but challenging. Haha! ENERGYbits worked for me but the only downside is the cost really. You should ask for a sample and try it out. Let me know and I can hook you up with their brand ambassador. Anyway, thanks again for stopping by and good luck with your running too! 😉

Leave a Reply

