Running far with ENERGYbits & *GIVEAWAY* (CLOSED)

“I have so much energy!”

“ENERGYbits powered me through my run!”

#PoweredbyBits

I had seen @ENERGYbits all over my Twitter feed and was curious about them. What are ENERGYbits? Do they REALLY work? Many runners, athletes and others swore by them and used them during their workouts or when they needed that extra boost. Since I’m training for my FIRST half marathon this year, I’ve been researching lots of different ways to fuel up for longer distances. I have tried energy gels and was not a fan of them. They were either too sweet or too messy. I wanted to see if there was an alternative product that might suit me better. The more I heard about ENERGYbits, the more I wanted to see if they were really worth the hype.

So, what are ENERGYbits? ENERGYbits are made of just ONE ingredient: 100% organically grown spirulina algae. ENERGYbits are non GMO, gluten-free and vegan. They are loaded with over 40 vitamins and minerals, have the highest concentration of protein (64%), OMEGA 3, antioxidants and amino acids. They are bits of food and are NOT a supplement.

ENERGYbits provides energy, boosts stamina and erases hunger or fatigue without caffeine, chemicals, sugar, and all that other nonsense. How can one ingredient provide so much energy and benefits? Simple: If you haven’t heard, algae is the new “super food”. The protein in algae is already in amino acid form and is quickly absorbed giving the body a constant flow of energy naturally. Combined with all the vitamins and nutrients already in them, it provides you with lots of added health benefits.

Check out what these little tabs are made of:

bag_new_with_facebook_energy

Wow, right?! Unlike certain energy gels and bars, I liked that ENERGYbits are a natural way to fuel up. I wanted to try them out but wasn’t sure about purchasing a whole bag since they aren’t cheap ($115.00 for 1,000). As luck would have it, ENERGYbits tweeted and asked if anybody was curious and I immediately responded. I was offered a sample to try and eagerly waited for them to come in. When I received them I was excited to give them a shot on my next long run.

Ebitscards

Last Saturday was my scheduled long run and I took them out for a test drive. I counted out 30 (!) of these little guys out. The recommended dosage is 30 tabs at least 10-15 minutes before a workout. Yes, 30. I thought, “Um, what?! I have to swallow ALL those?” Since they are made of algae, they do have a slight seafood smell to them. Honestly, I wasn’t too thrilled about that part but (wo)manned up and swallowed.  You can chew them but they can leave a green hue on your teeth. They actually taste very chalky and since they are bits of algae, they taste “green” and have a somewhat nutty taste. Not bad but I recommend swallowing the tabs.

Normally, I fuel my long runs with a Picky Bar or a banana with almond butter so I was hoping these would last me since my stomach was growling that morning. ENERGYbits are meant to stave off hunger and with only at a calorie each, you don’t have to worry about consuming too much.

Ebitshand

I headed out for my run and waited for the effects to come. I felt like a newbie asking myself, “Am I feeling this? Is this working? Is this what it’s supposed to feel like?” As I was running, I (amazingly) didn’t feel hungry and didn’t feel weighed down as I normally would when I have an energy bar or something else.

At mile five, I felt pretty good and decided that I would try going for seven miles. Mind you, I have never run this distance so I thought, why not? I was feeling great and was not tired. Maybe it was the beautiful sunny weather or maybe it was the ENERGYbits. All I know was that I was feeling awesome and when my Nike App told me I had reached seven miles, I may or may not have done a fist pump. My legs felt fine, my mind was clear and I didn’t feel exhausted at all.

030814map030814_stats030814_stats2

After my run, I wasn’t famished. I still felt like I had lots of energy and probably had more miles in me but decided to take it easy. I went off and did my errands with ease even after this long run. I also wasn’t sore and didn’t feel like I needed to crash. What I like about ENERGYbits is that it didn’t give me any stomach issues or that it made me feel jittery.

Would I take ENERGYbits again? YES. I have a race coming up this weekend and will be taking them again. I will be doing a 10K trail race and from my initial experience, I’m pretty confident that these will get me through that race.

ENERGYbits are great for anyone thinking of fueling up naturally and want to try something other than energy gels or bars. If you would like to find out if ENERGYbits are for you, check out their helpful website at: https://www.energybits.com/

Ebitsheart

****GIVEAWAY****

Curious about ENERGYbits and are thinking of trying them out? Well, you’re in luck because ENERGYbits likes to share and would like to send a sample to one lucky reader (sorry, but open to US residents only)! All you have to do is leave a comment below before next Friday (3/21/14) and let me know how you like to fuel up for a race or run. The winner will be randomly selected and announced next Friday (3/21/14)! Good luck!

Already a fan of ENERGYbits and are running low? You can get a 10% discount when you purchase a bag of bits! Just enter the word “BLOG” into their coupon box and you will receive your discount.

Disclaimer: I was offered a sample of ENERGYbits and was asked to review their product. All opinions are my own. ENERGYbits are only available at ENERGYbits.com and Jonathan (their Community Manager) has shared with me that he’d be happy to connect anyone with a current ambassador to share a discount on a bag of bits, or for more info on their sample program, you can email him at: jlevitt@energybits.com

14 thoughts on “Running far with ENERGYbits & *GIVEAWAY* (CLOSED)

  1. I’ve heard a lot about energy bits and would love to try them! I’m trying to find some alternative to gels and bars that work well for marathons and triathlons.

    • I was curious too and I’m glad I tried them. I did a 10K trail race over the weekend and I was nervous about having the energy to do it b/c I normally have food but they amazingly got me through a really tough and hilly course! Good luck on your marathons and tris!

    • I like steel cut oatmeal and I like to put almond butter, bananas, honey and cinnamon! Keeps me full until lunch! Wow! 3 cups of coffee?! EnergyBits would def be something for you to try then! 🙂

  2. Pingback: ENERGYbits Giveaway WINNER! | Run Now, Pancakes Later

  3. Pingback: March Run Recaps & The Start of Half-Marathon Training | Run Now, Pancakes Later

Leave a Reply

