Run Recap: My Sweet Weekend

As I was scrolling through my photos from this past weekend on my iPhone, I realized I had a big problem. I am addicted to sweets. Close-ups of cupcakes, cookies, ice-cream and cake that I had consumed in the last few days flooded my photo stream. Yeah, I’m definitely about that sweet life.

Not sure what I did more; eating or running! Despite all the sugar I had, I still managed to get a few good runs in this weekend.

*******************

Friday: It was Valentine’s Day and I was feeling high not only on LOVE but on sugar! How could I not have chocolate on this day, right?! I had brought cupcakes into work and I HAD TO test out the merchandise. I scarfed down a couple and decided to run them off later with a quick run. That evening, I ran 2.14 miles in honor of Valentine’s Day and earned my Nike Chocolate Heart Badge. Even though it was a short run, I gave myself a good workout on the treadmill by mixing up the speeds and incline.

VDayCupcakes

Valentine’s Day Treadmill Run Stats:

VDayRun

VDaystats

*******************

Saturday: It was my long run day and I headed to my usual running trail. I hadn’t gone for a run longer than 5 miles in a while and with an upcoming 10K next month, I decided to start putting in the mileage. I started fast and then my pace slowed down at miles 3 and 4. It was a tough run for me but I finished strong. I even surprised myself by putting in that extra 1/2 mile at the end and felt great.

Fuel: Banana Bread English Muffin with almond butter, bananas and drizzled with honey

021514_brekkie

Trail: Coyote Creek Trail

021514_trail

Stats:

021514_stat1021514_stat2

Post Run Sweet Treat: After my run, I did some errands and then I saw these! I swear, you can’t avoid these boxes of sin during this time of year! I’m talking about Girl Scout Cookies. We bought not one but four (!!!!) boxes of these addicting cookies. Needless to say, I had one of each and then some. After that long run, I felt like I had deserved these! Oh and I didn’t feel too bad since I was supporting the Girl Scouts!

Gscouts

*******************

Sunday: Rest Day. After a Sunday Funday in Berkeley, I had to end it with a stop at the popular C.R.E.A.M (Cookies Rule Everything Around Me) ice-cream shop on Telegraph Avenue. OMG, these were worth every calorie! I had salted caramel ice-cream sandwiched between two warm, soft-baked cookies: chocolate chip and white chocolate macadamia! Sunday Funday turned into a Sweet Sunday.

CREAM

*******************

Monday (President’s Day): I woke up early and started my day off with a 4 mile morning run at the trail. Judging by my stats, it looked like I was weighed down from all those treats as my pace was not my best. I started my run fast but slowed down at the end.

Trail: Coyote Creek Trail

PrezDayRun

Stats:

PrezDayRun2

After Dinner Dessert: “It’s not even my birthday…Cake…cake…cake…” It actually was my sis’ birthday and we celebrated by having some mango cake and ube ice-cream that evening. Yum! Um…what workout?

Ube

*******************

As if you already couldn’t tell, I LOVE sweets. And I think sometimes a bit TOO much. I normally don’t have this much but this weekend was the exception. After all that, I think I may have reached my dessert quota for the month! Believe me, my body was actually craving something healthy after this dessert binge.

“But I just ran!” Unfortunately, I use that as an excuse to eat everything in sight after a long run. Not good at all! During the week, I do eat pretty healthy and exercise regularly. But when the weekend rolls around and it comes to desserts, I always have room! I definitely have to cut down and refuel with other healthy alternatives. I don’t know…honestly, sometimes, a Sprinkles cupcake sounds more satisfying than a bowl of fruit to me after a run. Just sayin’.

How was your weekend run? Do you have an addiction to sweets? What are some of your healthy post-run snacks after your run?

See you at the finish line!

2 thoughts on “Run Recap: My Sweet Weekend

  1. I have the same problem with sweets!! I use the Paleo diet and Whole30 challenges to curb the sweet cravings. It’s all about hormone imbalances… very cool when you really start learning about it! I do think Valentine’s Day is a pass, though. I know I had my share of cupcakes!

    • Glad you had a nice Valentine’s Day and had some cupcakes! 🙂 I did Paleo for awhile but now I’ve adopted some of their principles. I definitely have to look into some healthy alternatives and read about the hormone imbalances you mentioned. Thanks for the tip and stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

