Run Recap: Running in the Rain

“Please don’t rain. Please don’t rain.” I whispered as I looked out the window.

I hadn’t run for a couple of days and I was getting itchy feet. I got back in bed and decided to wait it out. As I lay there, I debated about going to the gym, running on the treadmill and taking Body Pump class. It’s not the same, I thought. I wanted to run OUTSIDE!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind running in the rain. I’ve actually run a race in a downpour so going out for a quick run wasn’t a big deal. But today, staying dry sounded much more appealing.

After checking the weather on my phone, I walked to the window and peeked out again. The gray sky loomed overhead and a few drops of rain started coming down. “What do you think, Lucky?”, I asked our kitten who was perched on the window sill. He looked up and gave me an encouraging, “Meow!” I interpreted this as either, “Are you going to feed me?” or “Yes, go!”. I chose the latter and decided to get dressed and go. Sometimes, I think more with my feet than with my head.

What are you doing?! I asked myself as I drove to the trail. The rain was hitting my windshield faster and I contemplated turning back. Then I looked over at the trail and saw someone running. I turned my eyes back on the road and saw someone else running on the sidewalk. Ok, I’m not the only one who’s crazy to be running in this weather. Now, if they could do it, then I sure as hell can do it too. It was time to (wo)man up or shut up.

I parked my car, zipped up my rain jacket and stepped out. Ok, this isn’t too bad I thought, as the rain continued to softly fall. I promised myself to do a quick 5K run and if it got bad, then I would tun around. I wasn’t about to get sick because you know, ain’t nobody got time for that! With my watch set, I headed out.

As I ran, the rain started to become a light sprinkle and I removed my hood and decided to make this a good run. My pace quickened and I embraced the rain as it fell on my head. I took a deep breath, smelled the wet pavement and continued on.

Why is that when you run in the rain that every song that has to do about rain starts to get stuck in your head? Gene Kelly’s “I’m Singing in the Rain” and Missy Elliot’s, “The Rain” became part of my mental playlist with every step I took.

At the halfway point, the rain started to fall a bit faster and the wind blew a bit harder. Well, ain’t this a ‘b’! I picked up my pace and started to sprint back. Want to improve your pace? Run in the rain. You’ll go faster because you just want to get done. I finished my run, stretched out and quickly jumped inside my car.

Of course, as luck would have it, the rain suddenly STOPPED. What the?! I looked up and saw the clouds starting to break a little and the sun struggling to come out. Of course. I smiled and remembered this quote:

“Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet.” ~Bob Marley

Even though it rained on my run today, I’m glad I went out. It was a nice way to ‘wash away’ the stress and everything else from the week before. Though it was short, I had a good run and finished strong. Besides, a little rain never hurt anyone.

020814sun

Fuel: Runner’s High Picky Bar & water

RHPickyBar

Trail: Coyote Creek Trail

020814

Stats:

020814_map

020814sp

How did your weekend run go? Do you like running in the rain?

See you at the finish line!

Leave a Reply

