Race Recap: Rio Grill’s Resolution Run

Date: January 1, 2014
Race: Rio Grill’s Resolution Run, Carmel CA
Distance: 5K

Resolution races are always fun to run. What better way to start off the New Year than with a race! I decided to do the Resolution Race because 1) it was for a great cause 2) it was set in beautiful Carmel and 3) I had to start the New Year with a race!

The Rio Grill’s Resolution Race has been going on for more than 20 years and has been helping different organizations. This year’s race was benefitting the Natividad Medical Foundation’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit. The course features a 5K and a 10K that starts at the Crossroads Shopping Center and finishes at the Carmel Mission Basilica.

On New Year’s Day, I got up bright and early and headed out to Carmel. Seeing the sunrise and the Monterey Bay was a nice way to start the first day of the year.

sunrise

drive

The starting line and bib pick-up was located in front of the Rio Grill Restaurant at the Crossroads Shopping Center. I collected my bib and t-shirt and sat in the car because it was cold and windy! As I waited for it to warm up, I had a pre-race snack of half a banana and an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie from a batch that I had baked the night before. What?! I needed the sugar!

After a few minutes, I looked at my watch and hopped out of the car and headed to the starting line. I was amazed to see many runners ready to go. No time for any New Year Eve’s hangovers here! The starting time was set for 9:00 but we were told that there would be a 10 minute delay. I guess there were a few late stragglers!

start2

start1

mestart

At 9:10, we were off! I decided to do the 5K since I hadn’t been running as much during the holidays. This course was challenging from the get go! The first mile is uphill through Mission Trail Park. The trail is unpaved, dusty and at times you were running single file. I was glad to be out of the park and running on pavement.

The rest of the 5K course is through the wooded neighborhoods of Carmel. As I ran past the charming homes, I also caught glimpses of the Pacific Ocean peeking out in the distance. There was one water station and a few race supporters along the course which is always nice to see.

For the rest of the race, I kept a fairly good pace enjoying the sights and the gorgeous weather. Before I knew it I was headed to the finish line at the Carmel Mission Basilica. I collected my complimentary bottled water and made the short walk back to the Crossroads Shopping Center. The race is also sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Monterey who had a hot breakfast waiting for the runners. Even with the late start, the race was well-organized and the volunteers did a great job putting on a fun race.

So how did I do? Well, despite a near disastrous wardrobe malfunction (I’ll explain later in another post!), I did ok. Not my fastest 5K but I kept a good pace considering certain circumstances.

Unofficial Stats (according to my Nike+App):

map

nike1

Official: Time: 33:50 Pace: 10:54

RioResults

Rerun: Yes! Carmel is such a nice place to visit and I liked the course. Next time, I would like to run the 10K since that course hugged the ocean.

Post Run Pancakes: No pancakes! I was in Monterey and I HAD TO get seafood! I had a yummy lunch at Shake’s Old Fisherman’s Grotto at the wharf in Monterey.

wharf

view

calamari

lunch

More info: If you would like to run this race, please check out: Rio Grill’s Resolution Run

See you at the finish line!

One thought on “Race Recap: Rio Grill’s Resolution Run

  1. Pingback: Rerun – My year of running: 2014 | Run Now, Pancakes Later

Leave a Reply

