Run Recap: First run of February

Like most runners, I do my long runs on the weekends. Saturdays are when I do mine.

As my alarm buzzed this morning, I peeked out the window and saw that the sun wasn’t even out. I hit the snooze button and snuggled deeper into the covers. A lot of thoughts went through my mind as I tried to psych myself up to get up and go. “Get up! Go out there and finish this! What should I wear? Pants or shorts? It’s cold! Do I really want to go now?! How many miles should I do today?”

After a few minutes, I got up and walked to my dresser and then tore a page off from my Runners World desktop calendar and read the quote of the day:

“Running gives me a strength of power. On the way in from a run, I’m a new woman.” ~Lynn Jennings

It brought a smile to my face and was the extra motivation I needed to lace up my running shoes and go. I looked out the window and saw the first rays of the sun had come through and thought, today’s going to be a great day to run!

Fuel: Picky Bars All-In Almond energy bar and water

PickyBarA

The trail: Coyote Creek Trail

020114

Stats:

020114_map

splits

Recap: I wanted to do an easy run and planned on doing 5 miles today. It was a cold but sunny morning so it was a little tough to get going. I started to get into a groove and picked it up towards the end. First run of the month: COMPLETE!

See you at the finish line!

Leave a Reply

