And so it begins…

Sunsetpic

It’s always hard to begin anything. You’re not sure what to expect or if it will be a success. I’m starting this blog to chronicle my running experiences, my thoughts on running and some random parts of my life but more importantly my journey to completing my FIRST half-marathon this year. I want to look back and see how far I’ve come and hope to inspire someone out there who’s thinking of running. Running has been an important part of my life and I want to share my passion with others.

My goal: I have been running since 2009 and have done numerous 5Ks and 10Ks so naturally I’m taking the next step; completing a half-marathon. I will run my 35th race by doing a half-marathon on my 35th birthday in October! This is my #Raceto35

Fall is definitely marathon season so I have several to choose from. Which one? Here are a few that I’m considering:

  • The Nike Women’s Half in San Francisco: (Date: TBD) this is THE one that I would love to get into but with a lottery system in place, I’ll be lucky to even get a chance! This race is HUGE and attracts more than 20,000 runners! To be part of this would be amazing and getting that little Tiffany blue box at the end would be even better!
  • Rock ‘n’ Roll Half in San Jose: (Date: October 5, 2014) Born and bred in the Bay Area so why not do my first half rocking the streets of San Jose! With many races throughout the country, the Competitor Group operates the Rock ‘n’ Roll Race Series that attracts thousands of runners every year.
  • Rock ‘n’ Roll Half in Los Angeles: (Date: October 26, 2014) Another Rock ‘n’ Roll race but held in Downtown Los Angeles. This race is closer to my birthday so this would be a perfect way to celebrate! Plus, its Halloween themed! One of my favorite holidays!

I’ve set some ambitious running goals in the past. For example, in 2012 I did one race per month and ended up doing lucky number 13! I’m excited and nervous about doing a half-marathon since I haven’t run longer than a 10K but with the right training and loving support system that I have, I know I WILL do it!

See you at the finish line!

4 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Congrats on the launch of your creative and inspirational blog Sarah! You make me want to get off the couch and hit the pavement running…haha! I’ll be tuning in to see what tips you offer, to track your progress, and just for general inspiration. Keep up the great work and best of luck in preparation for your #Raceto35!

    • Thank you so much for your support and well wishes! I’m excited for my #Raceto35 journey and hope it inspires people like yourself to go after whatever goals they want to accomplish! Thanks again for reading!

  2. Pingback: February Run Recaps | Run Now, Pancakes Later

  3. Pingback: Rerun – My year of running: 2014 | Run Now, Pancakes Later

Leave a Reply

